Customer Reviews

See more reviews of us on Tripadvisor too.

Lovely, well equipped cottage in delightful rural setting, only about 15 mins from Henley - far enough to escape the traffic and crowds of the Henley Festival, but a great base for rowing there and for exploring the local area. An unusual linear room configuration of lounge/bathroom/bedroom/kitchen worked well for a couple. Generous and friendly hosts were full of useful information about local shops, places to eat and attractions. Kerrie, Cremorne, Australia. July 2018


We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Rose Lodge. It is in a beautiful part of the country, near places we wanted to visit, and very close to Henley-on-Thames. It is very peaceful, with beautiful green outlooks in every direction. We saw the famous Red Kites as well! There are fields across the lane way, and lovely gardens around Rose Lodge itself, as well as around the hosts' home next door. There is secure parking in a gated area next to the Lodge, as well as a private, pleasant outdoor sitting area, within the gardens of Rose Lodge. The Lodge is very well-equipped, with everything you could need and quite separate from the hosts' home next door. Clare and Malcolm are very approachable and considerate hosts, helping you as needed, but also respecting your privacy. We found the Lodge spacious for the two of us, and it can accommodate more with a fold-out bed in the living room.  We would happily stay here again, and recommend Rose Lodge to our family and friends. Jane & Paul, Sydney, Australia. June 2018


I originally chose this accommodation as it was a stone's throw away from friends I was visiting in Crowsley and although I only stayed in the "Lodge" for a few days, it was idyllic. After travelling for over 24 hours from Australia, upon arrival Clare and Malcolm welcomed me warmly with everything in place for my stay. Although it doesn't look it from the outside, it is very spacious inside with a sitting room, double bedroom, modern bathroom and large kitchen, which was fully equipped. Would love nothing more than to return one day for a much longer stay. Diane, Perth, Australia. May 2018


A warm welcome and a very comfortable stay. The lodge is beautifully situated with lovely walks and places to visit. We will hope to visit again. Ken & Jan, Dawlish, Devon, UK. April 2018


Thank you for friendly welcome, pretty, nice cottage in rural area. We enjoyed the week, even the weather was not too bad. The house and the garden is fantastic. Dagmar, Mario & Vincent, Heidelberg, Germany. August 2017


Absolutely loved my time at this cottage, the gardens are amazing, the cottage is so sweet with everything you could ever need and the hosts were lovely. Walking through the field smelling the fresh hay and listening to the beautiful Red Kite birds calling was truly a moment during my stay that I will never ever forget. Need to go back but stay much longer you won’t regret it. Fiona, Melbourne, Australia. July 2017.


Lovely cottage in the countryside. Very peaceful and close to lots of places to explore. Very nice. Thank you! Robert & Natalia, Calgary, Canada. July 2017


Cosy, comfortable cottage in a very quiet location. Great base for exploring the Thames Valley and beyond. Gary & Diane, NSW Australia. June 2017.


Location is wonderful, in the typical English countryside. We stayed for 8 days and Clare and Malcom really made us feel at home. The lodge is completely independent, has its own parking and modern furniture. We would love to visit again! Maria, Como, Italy. May 2017


Comfortable, convenient and friendly. Had a delightful stay. Thanks for hospitality and the wonderful jam! Wish we had longer. Dianne & Joe, Brisbane, Australia. August 2016


A really nice stay, simply lovely. Paolo & Lovena, Italy. April 2016


Thank you so much for letting me stay in your lovely cottage whilst visiting family in the area. I will surely return in the near future. I feel so at home here. Tatiana, Brussels, January 2016


A lovely cottage in delightful surroundings. Enjoyed walking several sections of the Thames Path. Excellent meal at the Butchers' Arms. Thank you for the recommendation. Elinor & Pierre, France. August 2015


Aawesome place, lovely people & gardens! What more could you ask for. Five star, thanks a million. Joolz & Chantelle, Queensland, Australia. June 2015


Many thanks for providing such a comfortable cottage. The beechwoods are magnificent at this time of year. A great area for cycling. Richard & Elizabeth, UK. November 2014.


We have had a wonderful week in your cozy cottage! What a beautiful area with lots to explore! We'll be back. Anna-Karin and Mikael, Sweden. July 2014


Beautiful cottage, the surroundings are great! Nice people everywhere. We went to Oxford - amazing. The Butcher's Arms serves very good food. There are amazing walks you can do. Beautiful sunny weather all week. Midsommer Murder Trail was very nice. Rene & Monique, The Netherlands, July 2014.


Beautiful but cosy bolthole, just what we needed. Lovely setting, even the weather couldn't spoil it. Clare gave us privacy but was there to help if needed. Lovely meals and friendly service at the Butcher's Arms. Tommy & Norma, Cornwall, April 2014.


We were here for the Henley Festival performing as Olympic Pandemonium drummers, what a beautiful place, to come back to it was very special and sad to leave, thank you. Andrew & Agatha, July 2013


We are so glad we found you! Here to watch our daughter row in Women's Henley Regatta and loved having Rose Lodge as our home base. Beautiful home, gardens, footpaths and such tranquillity! Clare & Malcolm you are lovely hosts, thank you. Karen & Ken, Sherborn, Mass. USA. June 2013


Cosy Lodge, with all we needed in a superb environment. Overwhelming nature. Very friendly people. These are the things we will remember when we are back in Holland. Many thanks. Ad & Marij, The Netherlands. June 2013


We had a lovely week - excellent walking, sunshine, comfortable "home"! Hazel & Morley, Kent. April 2013


Lovely place to get away from the stress. Saw lots of Red Kites. Lots of lovely walks - best of all - Quiet!! We will be back in Spring / Summer. Craig & Vicky, Orpington. October 2012.


A wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings. Perfect for our needs ad we look forward to coming again - thank you - and great jam! Gavin & Marlene, Aberdeenshire. July 2012


What a fantastic location!! The accommodation is superb and we have had a wonderful week. Thank you so much. Jan & Ken, Devon. May 2012v


This was the perfect holiday home for us. Close to Caversham where our relatives live. The Chilterns are beautiful in Autumn, we saw deer, Red Kites and a Barn Owl. It is a good place to make fine walks! We hope to come again in the future. Peter & Hennie, The Netherlands. November 2011.


What a brilliant place to finish our 5 week stay in England - idyllic surroundings, divine villages, good pubs and a cosy, comfy place to call home. Thank you Clare & Malcolm for your cheerful hospitality. Den & Julie Angell, Tasmania. Aug 2011.


Immaculate, economical, well hosted. Also recommend cross country walk through fields to nearest country pub! Simon, London. July 2010


Off peaceful country lanes, yet near rail and highway links in Reading, Rose Lodge offers rural calm, a lovely garden and all modern comforts for a self catering holiday. Location is superb for day trips. You may have to share the local road with a horse and rider, but that is part of the charm, and the Chiltern footpath is inviting. Local shops are fine, supermarkets available in Reading, although a car is needed. Pleasant thoughtful hosts. Lois and Jim Overbeck, Atlanta, Georgia, USA. August 2009.

Request Information

To request further information about Crowsley Rose Lodge, including pricing, please click on the link below:

Request Info

Trip Advisor Reviews